Book Fringe
Edinburgh's alternative book festival of ideas

What's On

2019 Programme

All our events are free + unticketed

 
BOOK FRINGE LOGO.jpeg

Lighthouse events start at 1.00pm and last for 30 minutes

Golden Hare events start at 6.30pm and last for one hour

Back to All Events

Water Shall Refuse Them

  • Golden Hare Books 68 St Stephen Street Edinburgh United Kingdom (map)

with author Lucie McKnight Hardy

Book launch for a vivid, disquieting debut novel, Water Shall Refuse Them. During the heatwave of 1976, Nif and her grieving family move to a small village on the Welsh borders, but rural seclusion brings no relief. As her family unravels, Nif invents her own form of witchcraft, until she meets a teen boy called Mally, who has his own secret rites to divulge.


Join Lucie McKnight Hardy as she shares the inspiration and process for this story of family, grief and ritual. Lucie will be in conversation with writer Claire Askew. Perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson and British folklore.

Water-Web-Cover.jpg

Featured Book

Water Shall Refuse Them by Lucie McKnight Hardy (Dead Ink, 2019)

Earlier Event: August 7
Yes, You Are Trans Enough
Later Event: August 8
Palestine +100